2 Additional Changes Youtube Has Made to Improve Small Business Video Marketing

Although there was a great uproar and outcry regarding  Youtube’s recent updates and changes, it seems those outcries are growing dimmer as small businesses are getting a net gain with Youtube’s redevelopment of their website.

In a previous blog post, I included a brief summary of Youtube’s new interface but I was hesitant to comment about the new changes internally since such a major change in navigation was putting a dent on how I was posting and editing my video tutorials.

The following is an example of my Youtube channel’s  new interface:

But as I mentioned earlier, those concerns are beginning to drift away since, as a matter of fact, YouTube has already made more of an effort to feature channels on search results pages for related keywords.   This is the key, make sure when you edit  your channel that you focus on using your main keyword phrase properly in your channel’s description , and you can get found even quicker!

My channel is showing an increased amount of traffic specifically in the last two weeks even without having any new video tutorial submissions.  Thanks to all your viewers of course but I believe Youtube’s changes have made it easier for viewers to find video content that is specific to their business interest without having to unduly compete with the latest kitten viral video or Hollywood star trend.

The following is a pic of a chart from my Youtube channel’s Analytics page showing  changes on my channel for the last two weeks:

The following is how the new reporting interface for Youtube looks like:

In addition you will note that Youtube has made additional changes to their analytics program that used to be called Youtube Insight.  It is now named  what else, of course, but Youtube Analytics!  It is graphically easier to navigate but what I consider a major improvement is its flexibility in either allowing you to use their reporting presets or defining the time frame for your desired report to your own specific needs.

Make sure you attend to these little channel update details as soon as possible because according to a recent blog post I read, most marketers will never take the less than five minutes to make these minor adjustments to their channel.  These changes should get you ahead of your competition. In any case, just another anecdotal report on Youtube’s  changes and how you might apply them to your small business marketing.

About richmediadp

I'm a freelance graphic designer working out of Orange County, CA - USA. I work with small and mid sized companies to develop creative solutions for their design problems from print collateral to online graphics.

Posted on January 14, 2012, in Video Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Very energetic post, I enjoyed that bit. Will there be a part 2?

  2. Very nice article, exactly what I needed.

  3. I simply want to say I am very new to blogging and absolutely savored this page. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You absolutely have tremendous stories. Bless you for sharing with us your web site.

Leave a Reply

