How to Morph A Face Using Photoshop CS5 – Tutorial

My latest tutorial hosted on my Youtube channel, that shows you the basics of morphing a face in Photoshop.  Kind of a fun project of turning a woman into an alien.

Transcript follows:

Transcript – (Length: 09 min. 30 sec.)

00:00

Hi, this is Richard from Rich Media Design Productions and I’m back to show you a little bit more about the animation feature in Photoshop CS5. And in particular,  get into a little bit of some of the other features that it has and I don’t know if you are familiar or not with the filter tool of the liquefy; but, it has some fun things that you can do.  So, I think we are going to make this a fun animation using this picture of a woman here (which by the way was generated by a computer that used, I guess, a scientific algorithm to give you the perfect face) and by making a morph you are going to have to change it in some way.

So, we are going to use this new tool, the liquefy feature in the filter section ( in the filter menu section) of Photoshop CS5.  Here on the left hand side we have the bloat tool and the pucker tool.  Those are the two tools that we will be using today or for this particular animation. I thought we might make an alien out of this woman.  We’ll kind of reverse all these things that these scientists did to make this woman’s face.  So, let’s have fun with it.  Okay, I already prescribed the size of the brush for you and if you wanted to change the size of the brush it’s on the right hand side.  Here, if you notice…at the bottom of the dialog box, you’ll notice that these things are ghosted.  And we’ll have these light up and ready for use once we start using the brush tool.  Basically, I can tell you that reconstruct takes you back in your steps.

02:05

In other words,  if you make some changes it will allow you to do, deconstruct in increments.  To say reconstruct , I would say deconstruct  because actually the original, that refers to the original construction.  And then Restore All, right next to it on the right hand side is actually just restoring it all at one time.

Okay, so let’s go on with this, which I’m going to start, if you remember the aliens from Area 51 and all these alien siteings, they have big eyes, so let’s start with that. We’ll start enlarging, using my mouse, I am going to click until her eyes get enlarged.  I centered the crosshairs right on the pupil, so that looks pretty good actually. The left side looks a little bit bigger, so I’m going to click a little bit more here and it looks about right. I’ll give it one more click here. Okay, I’m going to go to the left hand side to click the pucker tool and I’m going to pucker her nose.

Remember the aliens have a short pug nose.  So then, I’m clicking, clicking, clicking, clicking, clicking down. So, I can also move it, like going back to the blow tool and sort of get that one to look better.  Okay, now we want to do the mouth too, so we’ll get that mouth sized down.  That looks like a pretty good alien there. Let’s go back to the blow tool, let’s get her head.  Another feature that I wasn’t really planning on because actually, I really didn’t think about it ‘til now.

04:07

…is a paint tool that is called the color replacement tool.  And basically what it does, it replaces colors.  It actually takes the color that you have on your palette, and if you look over on your left there’s a green already there. It’ll use that color and replace the colors that you want it to.  So, in this case it would be the skin color and I’ll leave the eyes alone and the hair.  And we’ll just go in there, and paint the skin of this woman’s face or alien’s face now and see how it looks. Okay?  So, let’s do that.  I’ll start right here and come right in here. I left her eyebrows brown, so that’s how she’ll look.

05:03

Okay, so we go up to the window and select Animation on window..you’ll see that it’s down here on the list. You’ll see animation and you’ll go ahead and select that.  You’ll see an animation bar appear.  Now with this bar it tells you that there is  a timeline here. This is the time or the frames that indicate or the area where the frames will appear and show you how these transitions or this animation will take place.  Right now we have a frame on the timeline,  and that’s the face of the lady on top here. Now, if I wanted to add a frame.

All I need to do is go to this area  here.  Press it. That’s duplicate frame and now you’ll see that I’ll have  a duplicate of both of them.  Now, this basically will tell me that I can’t make an animation if both frames are going to be the same. So, what’s going to happen here?  We’re going to add  feature called tweening.  And it’s going to tween between the first frame and the last frame. It puts in between frames that will actually cause the transition. So, in order o make this frame the last frame, I go ahead and deselect  the girl or the woman.  And you’ll see that now, that the alien is the last frame. So, now I’ll press the shift key and select both of them.  And that will allow me to affect both frames and go over here to the tweening feature and press that.  That tells me that I can now add some frames in between these two.

07:11

This tells me that I’m going to add twelve frames.  I’m going to go ahead and select this because that’s exactly what I needed as it will affect the frames in between. So here we see all frames are selected.  Now, I’m looking at the bottom here and all of them say three seconds.  Now, that’s a long time for the transition to occur.  It’ll kind of be a slow but not that slow.  It’s going to take three seconds to go from one frame to another.  So, what I’m going to do is select this frame here and press my shift key and select this next key.  And, I’m going to put no delay meaning that there’s not going to be any time between  the transition, so it’s going to go pretty fast.

08:05

Okay, I’m going to go to the first frame…and I’m going to put, oh, about two seconds on there instead of three seconds.  And, this last one seems to be okay at three seconds. Now do we make her go from normal person to alien and then back again?  That might be a good idea, okay that sounds good. So, then we go to back to the beginning. Now press this over here to start at the beginning, and then I’ll press play.  And I’ll move this out of the way, because it’s going to show up on your screen at the wide or the larger picture…so let’s let her rip.  And it’ll go on forever unless I stop it or we have a power outage.  That’s going to be it for today.

And, I’ll hope you come back for another one. I think we’ll do something interesting.  I haven’t thought about what it will be; but, if you have any suggestions about anything you would like to see me get done.  Just give me a holler, just leave me a note and I’ll take a look at it and see if we can do it, okay?  Thank you again, and we’ll see you next time.

Related Post:

How to Morph Two Images on Low Cost MAC App Software

About richmediadp

I'm a freelance graphic designer working out of Orange County, CA - USA. I work with small and mid sized companies to develop creative solutions for their design problems from print collateral to online graphics.

Posted on March 9, 2011, in Video Marketing, Video Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. can you give a tutorial on a woman turning into a animal (cheetah).
    That would be cool.

  2. woot, thankyou! I finally came to a site where the webmaster knows what they’re talking about. Do you know how many results are in Google when I search.. too many! It’s so annoying having to go from page after page after page, wasting my day away with thousands of people just copying eachother’s articles… bah. Anyway, thankyou very much for the info anyway, much appreciated.
    My website is Anxiety relief.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

